Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
franktank232

do u make your own lime sulfur?

franktank232
11 years ago

I have 2lbs of sulfur here (powder) and 50lbs of hydrated lime... The ratio looks like 80lbs S/40lbs lime/50 gallons water... Cook it for an hour... I only have a handful of trees...if i make up a gallon or so of concentrate, how long does it store? Anyone make it?

Comments (20)

• steve_in_los_osos
    11 years ago

Since it's nearly impossible for home growers to obtain L-S in California I once looked at the possibility of making some for myself (living in an area where copper sprays just don't cut it against PLC). I *might* have considered it if I still had access to my old lab, but speaking as a chemist I would not "try this at home". The fumes are tremendous (in a very bad way). The mess is a close second.

Lime-Sulfur is really not that expensive. Making your own would be, IMHO, penny-wise and pound-foolish. It also does not keep that well, so making a bucket-full is not a great idea unless you plan to use it.

Incidentally, it *is* possible to obtain L-S in California. There is a pet-dip product which can be purchased from out-of-state vendors who will ship to California. The product is 98% (as opposed to the typical 20-ish% of the tree spray) so a little goes a long way and that means you don't have to pay for shipping a lot of water. My peaches leafed out completely free of PLC this season after a near-terminal case last year :-)

• franktank232
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Why can't u get it in California? I know hydrated lime is cheap..a 50lb bag at Menards is $7 ...i have the sulfur... i'd cook it outside on the grill (i have a side burner)...no hard there. I'm a good cook :)! I just don't need that much; i've never seen lime sulfur in the local stores...maybe Ace Hardward?

• steve_in_los_osos
    11 years ago