Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thebordella

Newbie wants to grow a lemon in CA

thebordella
11 years ago

Hi!

I recently moved to Los Angeles, on the westside. I am originally from the northeast and this is my first time living in this amazing climate.

Years ago I occasionally did summer container gardening of things like tomatoes and peppers using store bought plants. These worked out well but that is the limit of my experience.

I want to start getting back into this hobby here in LA and my goal is to start simple: grow a lemon. My new place has a large terrace that gets direct sun all afternoon (the previous tenant grew quite an extensive container fruit & vegetable garden out there but took it all with them).

Knowing nothing about growing citrus, what would be the best way to begin? What sort of lemon plant should I buy, preferably to get going quickly? Where would one typically shop for something like a lemon tree that is container friendly and ready to go?

Talk to me like I just landed on this planet! I will learn quickly and try new things but I want to get started with this one simple goal. I do have easy access to water, there is a spout right on the terrace.

Thanks!

Comments (4)

• sautesmom Sacramento
    11 years ago

Costco has some nice lemon trees in 5 gallon pots right now. Or you could go to a nice nursery if your Costco doesn't have any (obviously at twice the price!) You can't go wrong with a Meyer lemon, but if you can, also buy a Lisbon or Eureka (which are almost the same variety), because they fruit at different times than the Meyer and you will have a longer harvest period.

If you are going to be growing in a pot, you need to know that the most stressful thing for a plant is to have its roots heated up with direct sun, so be sure to provide some shade for the pot part, either by wrapping burlap or something around the pot, or by putting an inner pot inside of a larger pot, so there is an air layer in between.