Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
This bark graft from Wilson Nursery,..not very good.

Posted by konrad___far_north 3..just outside of E (My Page) on
Sun, Apr 14, 13 at 13:09

Allot of people do it like this and wonder why graft doesn't take.

If you're doing only one cut on the scion, [without the two side cuts] cambium of stock will lay on top of scion bark,...making poor or no connection with cambium.

Here is a link that might be useful: bark graft

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: This bark graft from Wilson Nursery,..not very good.

konrad why not show us how to do it or explain how to do it better. Anything is better than sending us to a video you say shows the wrong way to do it.

Are you saying the scion should be cut from two sides into a wedge before inserting it into the rind/bark or the host tree?

Not trying to be a jerk. I could use the help. I've never done this before but had saved that video because I thought that it was the right way to do it.

o

Yeah I know, thanks for asking,....just assuming most of you know what I'm talking about and seen my pictures before, the two side cut's I'm talking about are 90degree from the first cut, first picture in link below.
It is the cut facing you, which we can call it the second cut, 3rd.
cut would be on the far side, parallel.

Wilson nursery makes only one angle cut, [bottom cut in my picture].
These additional two side cuts will make better cambium contact on both, [stock and scion] when you slide it down.

Hope you follow this explanation.

Here is a link that might be useful: bark graft

o

Konrad, I'm no expert as I have never done any fruit tree grafting. I have read a little about it and watched a number of videos on several grafting techniques. From what I've seen and read there is more than one way to skin a cat depending on what you have to work with. Not to mention skill level and personal preference.