Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Where to buy a jujube honey jar tree

Posted by epis 9 CA (My Page) on
Fri, Apr 13, 12 at 13:49

HI,

I am new to this forum and have never planted a jujube tree.
I did some research and seems like honey jar is a good jujube tree.
I tried to contact Roger Meyer and he is not responding.
Do you know anywhere else to get Jujube Honey Jar tree?

BTW, what does scion wood mean? Does it come with root?
Since I am really new to fruit tree planting, I would prefer rooted plants..

Thanks a lot for your info.

Epis

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Where to buy a jujube honey jar tree

Well, where are you exactly in California? Walter Andersen Nurseries in San Diego county most likely have them or can get them. Same with Armstrong Nurseries in SD county. You can also try Exotica Nursery in Vista. I think they're only open on Saturdays, now.

Scionwood refers to a dormant branch of a particular fruit tree cultivar. It is used in reference to grafting fruit trees. Many different fruit trees are actually grafted. The cultivar you're purchasing is actually scion wood from a mother tree, grafted onto hardier rootstock. Other plants are grown on their own roots, but many are not in order to get best of both worlds - the variety you want on the top from the scion wood, grafted to root stock that will survive better in your particular soil conditions. And, they're always rooted, Epis :-) Actually, bare root fruit trees in most cases will establish better for you that potted fruit trees.

Patty S.

Patty S.

o
RE: Where to buy a jujube honey jar tree one more suggestion