Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
indoor_outdoor

right place for olive tree questions?

indoor_outdoor
15 years ago

Hello, this is my first time on a gardening forum so hopefully this is the correct place for my questions. I have recently purchased an olive tree. I have an indoor and outdoor garden and have placed the tree indoors due to the weather. I'm trying to find out some information on propagation and light cycles requirements. Basically I would like to know what technique to propagate and what are my lighting requirements for vegetation and fruiting. The tree is an arbequina. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (8)

• bonsaist
    15 years ago

Hello,
    i'm guessing your climate is too cold for olives. I grow olive trees here in Pennsylvania. Olives are evergreen, so they do require enough light even in winter. So if you are to grow it indoor, provide a spot that is a bit cool and well lit. I grow mine in the greenhouse, temperatures in winter drop to 40 F, which is beneficial for olives, especially if you want it to flower. In summer time, bring the tree out to full sun, It loves the sun.
    As far as propagation, they can be grown from cuttings. In the middle east they take cuttings with a heel of the tree. Basically, the cutting can be two year old growth with 1 year old growth.
    Hope this helps. Good luck growing it.
    Bass

• indoor_outdoor
    Original Author
    15 years ago

bonsaist,
    Thanks for the info. I do have another question, will it matter what stage the tree is in (fruiting or not) when taking a cutting? Also, from what I know ( not a lot ) the light cycle will determine if the tree is in a vegetative state or fruiting. Is this applicable to olive trees? Again thanks for your help!

• bonsaist
    15 years ago

I would say the best time for taking cuttings is late winter.

• sautesmom Sacramento
    15 years ago

This site says June/July:

Carla in Sac

Here is a link that might be useful: Prop Olives

• jellyman