Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
map1e_gw

pruning kiwi trees - too late?

map1e
17 years ago

Hi Everyone,

I'm a kiwi newbie. I have some kiwi plants that look about several years old. They look overgrown, but I missed my opportunity to prune them this winter. Now, the sap's running and leaves have started coming out. Should I just leave them unpruned until next winter, or can I prune them sooner?

Thank you very much!!

map1e

Comments (7)

• george_23
    17 years ago

Kiwi's are vines not trees. They grow very fast and large and if your arbor is designed properly they should be prunned. If not they should still be prunned, but it may be difficult. I would not recommend prunning them once they begin leafing out, it could lead to damage. Usually there is one male vine for 4 female vines, again depending on what you have as an arbor. The best time to prune is at the last part of winter while the plants are dormant. Here it is about mid February.

• kiwinut
    17 years ago

If they are blooming, then you should not prune now if you want any fruit this year. After bloom, any males can be pruned back really hard, up to 90% removal. If you have females with fruit, then it would be best to wait until the vines are dormant next winter. If no fruit sets, then go ahead and prune them back hard as well, then re-train the new growth. Any bleeding from the cuts will not harm them.

~kiwinut

• grantman
    17 years ago

Kiwi growth may become excessive. Pruining to achieve a strong stem with a few strong canes should be prioritized.
    Start now and you will be glad later.

• map1e
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thank you for all your replies!