Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amyjean_gw

Organic fertilizer for Peach

amyjean
15 years ago

I am new to growing fruit trees and have seen that it's recommended to use a 10-10-10 fertilizer on them (I have a peach tree.) When I went to my local feed store to purchase an organic fertilizer for it, they only had the Espoma brand, which states it is recommended for fruit trees, but it lists the contents as 6-3-2. Why the difference? Isn't this too much nitrogen in relation to the other nutrients? Thanks in advance for any help.

Comments (11)

• alan haigh
    15 years ago

Who knows what your peach tree needs exactly? When you are establishing it, it might benifit from extra quick release N but in most soils won't respond at all to P and K. Standard recs of 10-10-10 are not based on research I'm aware of but someone here will probably enlighten me.

I am certain that you won't experience any significant difference by using 6-3-2 instead of 10-10-10, but it might be better if you had some idea about what you're doing. That would mean testing your soil as a minimum.

I only automatically add N when I'm establishing a tree and want max growth.

• jellyman
    15 years ago

Amyjean:

I am in the Harvestman corner here. I never deliberately fertilize any of my fruit trees with chemical or organically based fertilizers, but do apply a thick ring of stable manure mulch at least every 2 years. This builds up the soil naturally, and provides all the slow-release nutrients the trees need. Other organic mulches, such as shredded leaves or shredded bark/trees available at many municipal waste sites would serve the same purpose.