Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
iowajer

Carmine Jewel

iowajer
11 years ago

So I've been fretting about my Early Richmond for a couple years now, and so in June of 2011 I planted 4 Carmine Jewel that I'd ordered from Gurney's. (Along with a North Star from a local nursery)

The CJ's were all pretty darn small, and two had leaf burn within a couple days of planting them, and one died soon after that.

I told Gurney's that one died and they gladly put in an order for a replacement, but said it'd be the following year as it was too late to ship. So in 2012 they sent me two more. So I have 5 all together.

Here's a picture of the biggest one of the 5, he's about 4 1/2' tall. So he was in the ground from June of '11, all of '12, and now '13. I'm fairly happy with the growth rate. I have another one about this size as well, then there are two that are like 3 1/2 and one that's about 2 feet.

{{gwi:86061}}

I sort of assumed with them being shrubs/bushes that I'd just let them be. But should I concern myself with any pruning of the inside branches that cross over each other?

I have zero experience with shrubs of any kind. I don't know if any of the li'l CJ's will fruit this year, but I guess I don't care too much other than I'm just curious about the characteristics and all that jazz.

I just felt like a 6-7' tall and maybe 6' wide bush would be just the ticket as I get more and more gray, but if I need to help it along with some pruning I sure can.

Thanks!

Comments (38)

• hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA
    11 years ago