Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Questions about dwarf peach/nectarine trees

Posted by Augustinabox 8b (My Page) on
Fri, Apr 12, 13 at 15:59

Ok, so first I need to say I am a complete novice gardener. I'm interested in growing either a peach or nectarine tree, and although I don't have any experience, I'm willing to try. I have a small patio balcony, so I've been looking into some dwarf varieties, but the information I'm finding all over the internet is very confusing.

I've heard that the fruits from these dwarf trees will not taste as good as the fruit from a standard tree. That's fine and all, but is there a way to grow tastier peaches or nectarines on a dwarf tree? Is there a particular variety that is a little tastier? What are the pros and cons of growing a genetic dwarf as opposed to a tree grafted onto dwarf rootstock?

I live in zone 8b. Our winters are pretty minimal and it gets really hot in the summers, but I have a south-facing patio so my plants shouldn't fry, right?

Anyways, I'm excited about gardening, but I'd like to optimize my selection. Any answers are much appreciated! :]

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Questions about dwarf peach/nectarine trees

• Posted by Omni none (My Page) on
    Fri, Apr 12, 13 at 16:49

I will try to answer some of your questions. I'm a beginner and I recently planted 2 dwarf peach trees, a multi grafted pear tree, and a 5 grafted semi dwarf apple tree.

I've never heard of dwarfs being less tastier/sweeter than the normal tree. Of course, since its a smaller tree, it will have a smaller yield and unless you thin the number of peaches per branch, you'll get smaller and not as tasty fruit with it. But this applies to standard sized trees as well.

As for variety, I bought the July Elberta from Stark Bros. I've read many reviews saying that its really sweet and a good thing about it is that it has smaller pit compared to other peaches, so per fruit you get more flesh and less seed.