Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
what mulch for berries?

Posted by baloomyers northern VA (My Page) on
Tue, Apr 21, 09 at 16:07

I recently planted blueberries, raspberries, and strawberries, each in a different area of my garden. I was planning on applying composted leaf mulch to help with weeds, but some recommend different mulches for particular types of plants (such as hard wood for the blueberries). Should I expect problems if I go ahead and use the composted leaf mulch? I plan to monitor the ph of the soil with a ph meter, so I can adjust that if necessary. This is my first time planting berries, so any help will be very appreciated.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: what mulch for berries?

Hi baloo; On my established rasberry beds I use dried tree leaves applied in the Fall. The Fall leaves remain there all winter for cold protection and are not removed the following Spring. On new beds, I've read not to mulch at all until about August but instead to cultivate lightly, I.E. remove the weeds without damaging the shallow raspberry roots. That is how I've managed mine and it has worked well. As far as my soil pH, it is 7.2 and well buffered so I'm not worried about over acidifying the soil with the leaves.

My blueberry try was a failure so I can't say. What is your soil texture and pH?

With June bearing strawberries I mulch them very lightly the 1st year with the same leaves. In the Fall after they are dormant, I cover them with about 8-12" of leaves and cover the leaves with bird netting otherwise the howling winter winds would remove the leaves exposing the plants. The netting also keeps my dog from turning the leaves into a toilet all winter long, YUCK! In the Spring, the leaves are almost completely removed down to the soil to allow air to circulate around the plants otherwise disease can become a problem.

Good luck,

Michael

o

• Posted by ericwi Dane County WI (My Page) on
    Tue, Apr 21, 09 at 23:04