Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
questioningserenity

Question about blueberries

So I've two of the larger blueberries on my patio. A Rabbiteye and a Home Bell. Both er in pots and get morning to early afternoon sun. And both have been sprouting new leaves.

My two questions are, how long does it take for the blueberries to ripen? They've plenty of started berries, but non have changed color and with so many I can't tell which have grown >.for those that read, thank you for your time, I'm trying to do a good job by the plants, I'm still new to gardening at all.

Comments (7)

• fireduck
    11 years ago

Q...since BB's love acidic soil...I use water soluable camelia fertilizer by Miracle Gro. In diluted amounts...you can apply every couple of weeks or so, and there is no danger of burn. From what I read...do not pick berries until totally blue for a few days...they sweeten up. Read info at: Dave Wilson Nursery. gl

• Ernie
    11 years ago

I use the same Miracle Gro product (MirAcid), and I've been very happy with the results. While I occasionally supplement with a liquid fish product, I wouldn't advise relying on it alone, nor would I use a citrus fertilizer (it might be fine, but blueberries have specialized requirements that citrus doesn't share).

I've linked to a Spectrum Analytic's Fertilizing Blueberries publication. While it's focused on growing blueberries in the ground (instead of containers), it has a lot of useful information. Here's one particularly relevant section: