Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ltbee_gw

Question re ordering raspberries/blackberries online & harvesting

ltbee
11 years ago

Hi!!! I am new to planting raspberries and blackberries and our local orchards don't have many varities available. It seems that plants ordered online are small. Will they fruit this year or how many years will it take for them to fruit? Any variety that you would recommend to grow in Virginia that tastes great?

Comments (9)

• Raw_Nature
    11 years ago

Black/raspberries tend to grow very quickly, I wouldn't waste your money on big plants.. Every year you cut the previous years canes off anyhow.. If you google/YouTube " pruning black/raspberries", or growing " blackberries" you will get a better understanding.. At my local hardware, they want $10 each.. Ingot them for $2-3 online nursery, and they weren't any smaller, not that matter to much.. You can get 4-5 plant for the price of one! Lookup some reputable online nurseries.. I got mine from burgess, but people will tell you you're nuts for buying from them, they have really bad reviews,etc! The plants I received were very good, for the most part...

Joe

• Scott F Smith
    11 years ago

Try Berries Unlimited if you want big plants, they sell 1-gallon plants. I have been very happy with them. Or Edible Landscaping right there in Virginia, they have lots of sizes.

Scott

• Raw_Nature
    11 years ago

Everyone talks about berriesunlimited, they are even rated top 5 for reviews! They seem very good.. But I am always putvoff by prices.. I could get the same gallon plant local for $5, they want $15.. But they do have good selection! Plus, you probably get what you pay for! Once you buy a plant, you will have it forever.. Maybe I'll even buy some plants from unlimited..

Thanks,
    Joe

• larry_gene
    11 years ago

Year 1: None or a handful
    Year2: Enough for a pie or two
    Year3: Eat lots of berries!

• Scott F Smith
    11 years ago