Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Whats going on with these cherry trees?

Posted by HappyBallz 9a-b (My Page) on
Sat, Apr 28, 12 at 18:57

I planted 4 cherries this spring and they all seem to be doing great but I have noticed some "changes" the other day.
The first 3 pics show one tree that has this gash and seem to have a little sap coming from it. I painted them all with paint and I do not remember that being there at all.

This one is from a different tree and the graft looks like it got chewed on by some bug. What could it be?

This is from a 3rd tree that don't seem to have a problem except for couple of leaves that look like that. Didn't see anything alike in the internet. Signs of problems?

I am a newbie with all of this; so should I be worried about any of these? I understand borer can be a problem so I'm trying to catch problems as soon as possible. Should I apply some imidacloprid? I would prefer to stay away from chemicals but I rather keep them alive. Should I paint them back in those spots?

Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Whats going on with these cherry trees?

It looks like Bacterial Canker, I don't think much can be done, some trees can live with for some time.

o

I agree it looks like canker. It could also have been just an injury, or an injury later infected by canker. The dark ooze makes me strongly expect there is canker now, though. When I get those on the main trunk I cut off the top 1/2" or so of bark down to clean (no dark) wood on the whole infected area. Its hard to do such a cut. Then paint it with anything to keep the canker from re-infecting.

The leaf looks like sunburn.

The tree base looks just like it grew and cracked the paint. maybe I missed something though.

Scott

o

Looks like some kind of bacterial canker

o

Thanks guys,

I will contact GrowOrganic and see what they want me to do.

If they will send a replacement and don't need this one back I will try cutting it out. Will report back.

o