Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Peach Socks - Bacterial Spot

Posted by nc_orchard 7a (My Page) on
Wed, Apr 25, 12 at 20:46

This is the first year I've had a substantial crop of peaches on my trees. I decided to try using nylon socks. I've had the socks on for about a month now and most of the peaches are beyond thumb size. Recently I noticed most of the peaches are oozing small droplets and the socks are sticking to the peach. I have noticed PC on my trees, so at first I thought maybe PC was able to bite through the socks to the fruit and perhaps it was the wound from the PC that was oozing. However, after removing one of the socks I found mutltiple "wounds" on the fruit and looks like it could be Bacterial Spot or Peach Scab. I'm fairly new to fruit growing so I'm having a hard time identifying what my problem is.

I guess my question is, will using nylon socks increase the risk of Bacterial Spot and Peach Scab? The trees have only seen one spray of copper at the dormant stage, so I'm sure that's part of my problem, but I'm wondering if using socks is going to create a disease problem that makes them not worth using to combat my insect problem.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Peach Socks - Bacterial Spot

I would think wool socks hold too much moisture to be on a peach.

o

My guess would be that the PC is going right through the sock. Have you heard that the socks will combat PC?

o

Peach oozing droplets means OFM not PC. PC don't need an exit wound for the frass like OFM does; the sign of the PC is the crescent mark of the egg-laying cut. Its similar with CM (codling moth) vs PC on apples, look for the open round exit wound to identify it being CM and the crescent to mean PC. I had thought I had PC on my apples only since I have seen several live PC but trapped no CM, but I am getting open oozing wounds so I know now that I have CM as well.