Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sautesmom

Grafting peach difficulties

Can anyone give me some pointers? This is my first year grafting, and I am so proud that my apple grafts both took, my apricot graft took, my cherry graft took! However ALL of my peach and nectarine grafts failed, both whip and cleft. I read somewhere that peaches are more difficult to get to "take".

Any experienced suggestions?

Thanks,

Carla in Sac

Comments (11)

• jmmedeiros
    15 years ago

Where were you grafting it on? In other words, what was the stock you were grafting the peach and nectarine scions?
    JM.

• Scott F Smith
    15 years ago

Carla, it took me quite a few years to figure out how to graft peaches. My main suggestion is to watch the temperature. Peaches callous best at around 70F, and callous poorly at lower temps. I wait until a week of weather of highs in 70's-80's and lows in 50's is forecast, and graft then. Wrap the grafts very tightly, and seal the scion from drying out - sometimes they take long to callous and so drying out is a bigger deal. I use doc farwells compound to seal them. Lastly, try to avoid temp fluctuations from the sun by grafting on the north side and/or wrapping over with aluminum foil to reflect the sun.

I would recommend picking two different periods to graft in. For example this year I did my first period about ten days ago. It looks like half of my grafts from that period are already showing takes. I managed to get takes on all varieties already, but I will do one more round at the next warm period just to have backups. Also as you can see I recommend doing many grafts of each variety, not just one. Even when the weather wrapping etc is perfect, it is hard to get to 100%. So far after 10 days I have 50% taking. It cooled off a bit too soon and I expect I will top out at about 70% from that batch. I usually do better than that, but never 100%.

Scott

• franktank232
    15 years ago

Scott-