Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
apple tree pruning to promote spurs

Posted by urbanfarmer7b 7b (My Page) on
Sun, Apr 18, 10 at 22:54

How do I prune the shoots on my apple tree to create future spurs? (pictures below) On some trees like the one below there's a lot of shoots on branches and I don't have a sense cutting them back (others like the Arkansas black I have is forming more spurs). I've read that if I cut them back to one or two shoots it will push it to form spurs, but that doesn't seem to be the case. I've been doing summer pruning to keep it in check, but I wonder if the tree just has more vigor than I planned; and did I misread the information on pruning? Any help is appreciated (including recommended books, or general comments).

As background I am attempting to grow an apple tree fence. Becuase my space is limited, I'm keeping it 2 demensional, I use posts and spreaders to keep the tree in form. As much as I've read, I'm still a novice and this is a bit of an experiment. The fence row is a variety of trees, this picture is 'enterprise' spur forming on M111 planted in 2006 as a 1 year whip. Ideally I like it to get around 12 to 15 ft.

Thanks, Robert

Tree followed by a branch (see the 6" shoots, no spurs).

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: apple tree pruning to promote spurs

• Posted by myk1 5 IL (My Page) on
    Mon, Apr 19, 10 at 0:00

Timing, timing, timing.

I assume the Arkansas Black is a spur type. You don't have to do anything to those kind.

I'm not sure if it's a set time based on your weather or a set time based on when the fruit is ripe because so far I only have one tree that wanted to go all tree and no fruit, but on that tree, pruning for spurs happens mid to late August, about the same time as the fruit is ripe.