Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kjskjs_gw

Why no permethrin after petal fall?

kjskjs
15 years ago

I am considering bagging my apples this year, but want to get a little insecticide on first. My dilemma is that Permethrin is not listed for use after petal fall (just when I think I will need it). My Bonide "Fruit Tree Spray" which contains captan, malathion, carbaryl also prsents problems because the carbaryl is said to thin the fruit and I hear it should not be used for 6 weeks after petal fall.

So what recommendations do you have for spray in the time period from petal fall until bagging time. I'm new to apples but I understand PC could cause a problem in my area (Frederick Co, Northern VA). I don't have access to Imidan. I will basically only be getting chemicals available in local farm supply stores, nurseries or big box stores.etc.

I'm confused why Permethrin can't be used after petal fall on apples. It can be used up until several days before harvest on many listed vegetables. My understanding was that it was a relatively benign spray compared to some others.

KJS

Comments (10)

• olpea
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

KJS,

Walmart and Home Depot sell a product called Triazicide - Once and Done Insect Killer. Like Permethrin, it is a synthetic pyrethroid. Triazicide (the concentrate, not the cyrstals) is labeled for pome and stone fruits, and can be used up to 3 weeks prior to harvest in apples. Triazicide appears to be very close in chemical make-up to the commercial product Warrior. My guess is, its residual power would be similar to Warrior (10 days to 2 weeks).

• myk1
    15 years ago

I searched a lot of PDF files from the EPA last night and couldn't come up with anything about apples after petal fall except not to do it. No explanation what so ever.
    It doesn't make sense. I've put the stuff on my dogs before.