Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gourdo1

Moving next year, want to take plums and Meyers with us

gourdo1
10 years ago

Complete newbie here, so go easy on me...

Our family plans to move in about a year's time to a nearby neighborhood in the SF Bay Area. Our current house has a great Meyer lemon and plum tree that we'd love to transplant to our new home when the time comes.

If I were to plant the seeds from each tree, I'm led to believe that I could be waiting many years for fruit and that the trees may grow too high to be accessible in our new backyard.

So... I was thinking of buying some commercially grown fruit this year, planting the seeds in a large growing pot and using the resulting plant as root stock (assuming the commercially grown fruit would produce good roots). Then I'd graft branches from our current trees onto them so that by the time we move in a year or so, the small grafted trees would hopefully be ready to plant in the ground permanently.

My question is first of all, is this a feasible plan and if so, at what point would I want to graft the branches onto the root stock?

Thanks,
Gordo

Comments (6)

• canadianplant
    10 years ago

Well, its a bit tricky growing fruit from seeds - Ill try not to rant your eyes off :P

A good potion of citrus should/will grow very similar to the parent. THe exception ive read is grape fruit. I dont know how close Meyer will be because it isnt a real lemon, it is a type of orange crossed with a lemon. The good thing is, meyer lemon is polyembryonic, which means the seed has multiple "plants".

As for the plu, the only plums ive read that should come close to the parent when grown from seed are some green/yellow plums (these are the only plum seeds ive actually got to grow from seed).

IF you do choose to grow the lemon from seed, keep the seed moist, keep the seed clean, and sow in the top 1/4 inch of moist potting soil. Keep it warm.