Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
walterupchurch

watering grape vines

walterupchurch
16 years ago

would like to know how much would yaw water your new grape vines it is 90 hear an no rain i have been watering every night or after noon about 2 hours on drip it is a gal a hour been checking them the ground is moset my land is hard an rocky hear i have seen it crack when hot an dry wer haveing a dry season early

Comments (3)

• husbear
    16 years ago

First, I am not a grape expert by many sense of the word. I have managed to keep several different varieties thriving and productive here in Houston where Pierce's Disease tends to kill off the tender, first and second year vines very quickly. Going on ten years of great table and wine grapes. I can share my experience and what I have learned thus far.

Much of the watering need depends on your climate and soil.
    Here in Houston, we have the "arm pit" of humidity of the US. (Sorry for the graphic depiction) and heavy clay "gumbo" soil.
    In the first year of growth, grapes tend to like an evenly moist and loose soil. Yet they will not tolerate "wet feet" for prolonged periods of time.
    I dug a pit 3 times a wide and 3x deep as the root ball and replaced the soil.
    This helped the vines for drainage and such in the first couple of years.

I also utilize drip irrigation for my grapes.
    The first year I started the vines, I watered 4 gallons every 3 or 4 days, and liquid fertilizer every 14 days.
    Grapes tend to establish a deep root structure in the first couple of years. Established grape plants are pretty drought resistant. If you water it at all, (which I do) give it about 25 (clay) to 50 (sand) gallons thru a 2gph (clay) to 5gph (sand) dripper every one and a half to two weeks once established.