Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mr_pickle

Black Ice Plum Pollinator

mr_pickle
11 years ago

I am interested in this black plum and have ordered two of them. My question is i'm a bit limited for space and already have a superior planted in the area. Can a person rely on superior (do they flower at the same time as black ice?) to pollinate the black-ice. Toka is the recommended pollinator but I'm not real fond of the Toka and it's quality and traits. Because of the limited room i want good quality fresh edibles and not a fair product like the Toka if I can help it. Thanks for your help.

Comments (23)

• mr_pickle
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Hmmm, no avid plum growers? :(

• franktank232
    11 years ago

I know someone on here has one that fruited... my guess is that it flowers around the same time as other hybrid plums.

• spartan-apple
    11 years ago

Black Ice plum was developed by Dr. Brian Smith of University of Wisconsin-River Falls. I have no experience
    growing it but perhaps an e-mail direct to him would give the best answer on pollination requirements.

The cultivar name is 'Lydecker' named after Ann Lydecker
    of UW-River Falls. I believe she was killed in an auto
    accident and the plum was named in memory of her. Black Ice is the trademark name.

I have an orchard buddy commercially growing this variety in N.W. WI. His first crop (2011) had a lot of cracking as the fruit neared the ripe stage. Hopefully just from
    heavy rainfall near ripening time.

• mr_pickle
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thank you for the updates folks.

I have a message in with Brian at the university but he has not called me back. Guess i'll just have to wing it. Hopefully i'm not wasting my time.

• kmrubin
    9 years ago

did it work? looking for some thing, black ice and superior to pollinate? thanks!

• acable745
    9 years ago

check out good fruit.com/plums for suggested alternative pollinators

• hoosier318
    8 years ago