Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
clarkinks

What is your favorite grafting tape or method?

clarkinks
9 years ago

I'm using para film tape currently and I'm relatively happy with it and tanglefoot or wax. What are you using? I have friends that use rubber bands, string, freezer bags, electric tape etc.

Comments (35)

• clarkinks
    Original Author
    9 years ago

This is the sealant I commonly use

• Scott F Smith
    9 years ago

I use the wide parafilm and wrap as tight as I can without breaking the parafilm. I can get a really tight seal with it which I feel helps push things together to make the graft stick. I use Doc Farwells grafting compound to seal the scion, but any sealer will work well. For grapes and other heat lovers I use a tar sealer.

Scott

• Kevin Reilly
    9 years ago

Buddy Tape works really well for me, much easier to use than parafilm. (Although I am a novice. Maybe for more experienced grafters parafilm is easy)

• marknmt
    9 years ago

I depend on budding rubbers to pull the graft up snug, and then wrap with parafilm- touch up the cut end with toilet ring wax. Sometimes I use rubber tape. I'd use paper tape or, better, electical tape if I had to.

Important thing, and my weakness, is to make good cuts so that the scion and rootstock match well, use enough pressure to bring the parts into good contact, and then shut out air. I usually don't have to worry about grafts getting too hot, so I don't use aluminum foil tents. I probably would benefit from poly-bagging some of my grafts in cooler weather to encourage callousing.

• clarkinks
    Original Author
    9 years ago