Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dave_in_nova

Bagging apples - a question

For those who put plastic bags on their developing apples to keep the worms out, I have a question.

This is my first year at my new house and I've inherited an apple tree, which I drastically pruned this last winter. Now every limb is reachable with a step ladder. There are quite a few apples that have set on. I've been using cheap zip-lock sandwich bags on the apples, thinning to the largest one per cluster -- they're about dime-size now. I've probably bagged about 50 at this point. Do a little every week as I have time. So far so good.

Besides zipping the bags up to the stems, I've been adding two small strips of duct tape to keep the bag from opening -- on either side of the stem. I can't see the zip-lock keeping the bag on by itself. Is this OK? We can get some strong winds with storms here. It takes more time, but I figure it's insurance. Any problems with the tape? I think there's plenty room for the apple to develop within the bag.

Comments (23)

• jellyman
    15 years ago

Dave:

I have been bagging apples in ziplock sandwich bags in Great Falls for the past 3 years. I use the lightweight sandwich bags with a double seal, either from Wal-Mart or Safeway's house brand. Not all bags have the same seal design. In addition to clipping the lower corners of the bags, I remove the plastic above the seal after opening the bags to allow for easier installation on apples with short stems. If any leaves are in the way of the apple I choose to bag, I simply remove them.