Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lsoh_ohzone5

triazicide, then rain. Reapply?

lsoh
10 years ago

I've been unable to spray my fruit trees until yesterday. (Out of town, then wind.) The Cherry was in bloom when I left town about 2 weeks ago. I'm new to this, but I'm pretty sure the Cherry tree has aphids. Yesterday evening the wind died down last night about 8 pm so I sprayed with Triazicide. Despite the forecast, it rained last night. Weather.com says it didn't rain. My rain gauge says 0.01". So probably fairly light. Do I need to spray again?

Thanks

Comments (8)

• fruitnut Z7 4500ft SW TX
    10 years ago

Not for aphids until you see the need again. Aphids are easy to kill. One good spray and they are gone. But depending on conditions they might appear again later. In my greenhouse spraying once every 4-6 weeks provides full control. Sometimes I don't even spray. Just cut off the young growth on the branch tips where all the aphids reside. Then they are gone until more new growth appears. If I need more growth I spray, if not then I trim the tips off.

• daemon2525
    10 years ago

Fuitnut, you say that aphids are easy to kill? I am not questioning that but I am not having such luck. My wife has roses with what I call a green aphid. So I said, yes Honey I'll handle that! I have an arsenal of orchard sprays!

First round with Triazicide, the next day we still had some left. waited a week and this time I sprayed malathion.

I still saw some moving this morning.

• fruitnut Z7 4500ft SW TX
    10 years ago

daemon:

Maybe I'm wrong. Like any insect they can develop resistance to certain pesticides. Where they've been sprayed a lot, like heavy ag areas, they might be resistant. No ag around here and mine pop like a water ballon.

• mamuang_gw
    10 years ago

Isoh and Daemon,