Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mrsg47

New to blueberries

mrsg47
9 years ago

Hi all! I am a total blueberry newbie. Is there a spray sched. that goes along with healthy berry plants? Thanks, Mrs. G

Comments (16)

• drew51 SE MI Z5b/6a
    9 years ago

I have found pest pressure to be low on blueberries. It may depend on your area. I at times spray if the spray I'm using for strawberries, or fruit trees is compatible with blueberries. While i have the stuff out, as a preventative.

• danzeb
    9 years ago

I've been growing blueberries for 20 years and never sprayed them, as far as I can remember. Of course your experience might be different in your location. If you are going to spray them, you should first know what you are trying to kill.and you shouldn't be killing the bees that are pollinating them.

For me the biggest problem in raising blueberries is stopping the birds from eating all of them.

• mamuang_gw
    9 years ago

Hi Mrs. G,

I've had blueberries for the past 5-6 years. I've never sparyed for anything. My main focus is to keep the ph low enough for them to thrive. I fertilize them with acid-loving fertilizer.

I did not protect them during this past brutal winter, either. All mine have come back looking great (little to no die back) including the 3 that were planted last spring.

• mrsg47
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks all! Right now the leaves a small but green and the flowers are about to open. I do have a few buds that did not make it. Unfortunately my new 'pollinator' has no flowers. I'll settle for two berries! Glad to hear there is little spray to worry about. Can't wait to see what might happen! Mrs. G

• drew51 SE MI Z5b/6a
    9 years ago