Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
madailey_gw

quick honeycrisp question before planting please

Madailey
9 years ago

i have two potted honey crisp trees i would like to plant today. could someone please suggest a fertilizer? and also should i spray them with something? Excuse my ignorance, its my first time and i would hate to see these beauties not make it.

thanks all

Comments (6)

• fruitnut Z7 4500ft SW TX
    9 years ago

No fertilizer at planting. That's a good way to kill a tree. Fertilize after the tree gets established and then only small amounts with lots of water. I burned a couple recently planted trees this year with fertilizer.

Usually newly planted trees don't need to be sprayed unless you see an actual problem.

• Madailey
    Original Author
    9 years ago

can someone please tell me if planting planting my honeycrisp in a yard with a pretty bad ant problem will be an issue?

thanks

• clarkinks
    9 years ago