Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jayco_gw

One warm south-facing wall for espalier -- what to plant?

jayco
10 years ago

I've got a number of apple trees in my zone 5b/6a NY garden. I also have one warm south-east facing wall (cedar siding) against which I've been toying with the idea of another fruit tree, espaliered. How difficult would it be to grow plums, peaches, apricots, or sour cherries? I'm an amateur so I'd likely go with whatever is going to be easiest, as I think all these fruits would be delightful to have fresh. I'd also appreciate variety recommendations. And finally, how difficult is it to espalier? I have a book and it looks pretty straightforward, but I know books have the tendency to gloss over many real-world issues. Thanks for any advice.

Comments (7)

• MrsEllis
    10 years ago

I looked into a berry tree that had already been... espaliered?... by my local nursery. When asking about it the lady told me it was very difficult to do and took a lot of time and care. I don't know if this is true or if she was just busy and didn't feel like getting into it, however it did keep me from buying the tree. I know that information doesn't help much, but my main point was that I believe you can buy them already espaliered from your local nursery and they could tell you how to maintain the look. :)

• jayco
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks. But I wanna do it myself! If it's too hard, I'd probably just try something else.

• peachymomo
    10 years ago

It's better to train your own espalier than buy one for two reasons, first a trained espalier is going to be very expensive and second a young bare root tree (or vine) planted and trained in it's permanent home will be stronger and healthier in the long term.