Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
metaphora

Varieties of fastest growing fruit trees?

metaphora
10 years ago

Hi all:

Looking for specific varieties of fastest-growing fruit trees for zone 6b. Time to fruit, and type of fruit is irrelevant.

My co-worker, who knows nothing about plants, has asked me to help her pick out a tree for her backyard. She is not picky, just as long as it "looks like a tree" and can handle periodic drought, as they do not have a water source in their backyard and she's not likely going to be a dedicated waterer.

My experience with fruit trees is limited to the established trees that I grew up with in San Diego, so I have little experience with young, cold-hardy varieties. I'm hoping to get recommendations for specific varieties of trees that my co-worker can plant and which will add instant greenery to her currently barren backyard.

I've been reading and it appears that peach, apples, and pears grow the fastest. I know that mulberry trees shoot up, but am hesitant to recommend them because of the mess the berries can make when they are ripe. Thoughts? Recommendations? Thanks!

Comments (9)

• dmtaylor
    10 years ago

Peaches grow pretty dang fast. Apples sometimes grow fast for one year, then pretty slow after that. Cherries are somewhere in between. I have no experience with pears or plums. My gut and my mouth say, go with peach. Not sure of which cultivar is fastest for your climate but I bet just about any will be fine. Perhaps Contender or Elberta if you are concerned at all about the occasional spring cold snaps killing the flower buds, although in 6b it's probably not too huge a concern. Peaches need full sun and some water to keep them going. If you can't assure good watering, cherry might be the better way to go.

• fruitnut Z7 4500ft SW TX
    10 years ago