Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bill99922

When to prune excess grafts

bill999
9 years ago

I have two Kieffer pear scions growing furiously on a 1 1/2 butt of a branch on a Bartlett. One is 5" the other 3" and growing longer by the day with plenty of leaves. When do I cut one off? Do I even need to remove one? Why? Elsewhere on the tree a very healthy single Asian pear scion is growing. I'm still a novice at this.

Comments (7)

• Konrad___far_north
    9 years ago

Picture would help,.all my grafts are not cut, even at 36 inches.

• 2010champsbcs
    9 years ago

Konrad has good advice. Trust me, I have messed up several grafts by messing with them too soon. I like to leave them alone at least until I'm sure the graft is secure. I am small time so I can watch my grafts closely and I usually release the tape and trim after they are about 16". This will not apply to all situations but it is a place to start.

• ltilton
    9 years ago

I'd like to echo the OP's question - why can't you keep two grafts on one branch?

• bill999
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I get it. Don't be in a hurry and the electrical tape can be removed at about a foot and a half, leaving the paraffin tape intact. Still don't understand if two grafts so close will lead to crowding. Would prefer two branches of the grafted species in case one branch is lost.

• Konrad___far_north
    9 years ago

Think I understand you better,..you have two grafts @ 180 degree and you want to get rid of one?

If so, then yeas, let the better graft stay and get rid of the other,
    but l let the electrical tape stay until next spring,..otherwise you could be sorry, graft can brake off in a strong wind. You might even need to support that graft on a stick or something, I never have to do in single bark grafting.

That is why I don't like heavy stock and multiple grafts,...it takes a while to heal over, heaviest I use is about thumb size and one graft.