Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Need help to ID this tree/shrub

Posted by chara2 9 (My Page) on
Wed, May 2, 12 at 15:04

I need help in identifying this rescued tree/shrub. About 2 months ago I dug it out from the old lot there the small plant nursery used to be just a few years ago. It looks like it is recovering from the transplanting shock as is pushing a new growth. So, now I have two questions: what is it and what needs to be done to get it back in to the shape and fruit bearing condition. Upon transplanting, it had one small green fruit of the plum type, about 0.5 inch. Unfortunately, my camera doesn't catch a more red/purplish color on the new foliage. Please, advise, as I'm a newbie. Thank you.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Need help to ID this tree/shrub

The color of the foliage would indicate that it might be a rootstock. But there are fruiting varieties that are this color as well.

o

It looks like a purple-leaf peach; as fruitnut states it could have been the rootstock as purple leaves are favored for roots (if a graft fails it raises a "purple flag" to the grower that something is amiss).

Scott

o

OK, I have to share something with the group. I have had two peaches, one about 10-12 years ago, and I have one now, that are the rootstock from a deceased graft. Both of them actually had very tasty, albeit small, peaches. The current one is extremely late, and I often don't bother to harvest because I'm sick of peaches by that point, but they are really good in terms of flavor, a small freestone larger than a golf ball but smaller than a tennis ball.

o

This morning I went to a large nursery. After waking around for a while I found a group of grafted nectarines tagged Sunhome that look like my NOID. I think that it is it.
At some point I will have to remove most of the new shouts coming from the base. How many should be left? Will 3-4 be too many? Should I do it now or wait for a fall?