Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Elizabeth Blueberry

Posted by Bruinx97 10 (Los Angeles, CA) (My Page) on
Thu, May 24, 12 at 15:59

Hi,

Bit of a Noob here...I bought my first Blueberry bush this season and have a few questions. I currently have it in a pot, until I can find a spot for it (and condition the soil).

I bought an Elizabeth Blueberry bush and it has grown a bit. However:

1) The leaves are a bit red. I noticed that they get 'greener' sometimes. What could be causing this?

I'm thinking it could be a temp issue, since it's currently in a pot and the weather has been very hot one day and cold the next.

2) I only bought 1 bush. Do I need to buy another bush to pollinate? If so, do I get another Elizabeth or will I need a different variety?

3) If I need a different variety, what is a good choice for Zone 10 and what is compatible with the Elizabeth?

I believe I need to get a variety that blooms around the same time (late season?) and with low chill hours.

4) What other factors need to be taken into account when selecting a pollinating companion?

Thanks in advance,
George

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Elizabeth Blueberry

I looked up Elizabeth Blueberry and its rated for zones 4-8. Your in zone 10??? If so, chances are your plant will not recieve enough chill hours to fruit in your location. The good news is there are several varieties that are rated for zone 10. I know Biloxi, Misty, Sharpblue and Sunshine Blue are rated through zone 11 so you will have much better success with these varieties. Gulfcoast is also rated for zone 10.

o

• Posted by Bruinx97 10 (Los Angeles, CA) (My Page) on
    Thu, May 24, 12 at 19:55

Thanks Blueboy,

I bought it from Gurney's:

http://gurneys.com/elizabeth--blueberry/p/68290/