Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brumer0

Help: Grape leaves turning yellow?

brumer0
11 years ago

Hello everybody!

This is my second year growing grapes and am hoping to get an actual harvest this year (3yr old vines). I live in NC and have a drip system on my grapes, so there isnt a bunch of water getting on the leaves/fruit. I also spray every 2 weeks with Sevin and this other anti-mold/fungus stuff.

Below are 2 links to the pictures of some grape leaves I have (one is the top and the other picture is the bottom). Can you help me identify whats wrong? Am I over/under watering, soil deficiency, or disease? I dont see any mold or fungi, but I honestly might not be able to recognize such things bc I am a newb. Or, is it just time for these leaves to die. Id say 5-10% of the leaves are turning this color.

Thank you!!!

http://www.rumeria.com/grapes1.jpg

http://www.rumeria.com/grapes2.jpg

Comments (10)

• luis_pr
    11 years ago

I would check for Magnesium deficiency, Potassium excess and soil pH problems. You will need to make a soil test for Mg deficiency though. There are some cheap soil test kit that will check for Pottasium and soil pH levels. There could also be pests involved as well as growing the vine close to a black walnut tree (the juglone in the roots is toxic to many plants).

• jean001a
    11 years ago

Could be water related.

What's the output of your drip system for the grape?
    How long do you run the system.
    How often do you water?

Please post an image of the vine overall.

• tshia6br
    11 years ago

That's funny I just planted one from one of the big box stores 3 weeks ago at the end of the first week that's how my leaves looked, I just kept on watering on a normal routine of any newly planted plant checking the soil for moisture the leaves never wilted or fell off, now they are almost completely greened back up.

• brumer0
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks everybody for your continued help.