Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
krismast

Fertilizing Peaches

krismast
10 years ago

Hello. I have had this peach tree for about three years now. I believe it's a white flesh peach named snow princess or something like that. I haven't fertilized it and I'm sure that's not good, but I'm trying to take better care of it from here on out :) The past two years, I have had problems with peach leaf curl. I applied a fungicide late in the winter and it seems to have taken care of most of it. But what exactly should I be using for fertilizer and how often do I apply it, and in what way do I apply it? The tree is planted about 6 or so feet from the edge of one of our crop fields. Is it possible it wouldn't need any fertilizer because of fertilizers used on the crops? This is my first in ground fruit tree so I'm a little new at this. I know enough that people don't like those fruit spikes so I know not to use those. Also should I be watering the tree regularly if we don't get rain? I'm not sure how I could as its a little bit of a distance from a water source.

Thanks for all your help!

Kristopher

Comments (5)

• fireduck
    10 years ago

K...it depends on your soil...as to the importance of fertilizer. Deep and heavy clay-like soils are nutrient rich. Sandy soils need help. Identify your soil type and go from there. An all-around fertilizer never hurts during the growing season. How do you protect from birds???

• krismast
    Original Author
    10 years ago