Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nandakumar_gw

Fertilizers for Blueberry

nandakumar
10 years ago

I'm new to Blueberry gardening and this forum members have been helpful in selecting these varieties to grow in Dallas, TX.

1. Bountiful Blue
2. Peach Sorbet
3. Palmetto
4. Sunshine Blue
5. Climax
6. Brightwell
7. Pink Lemonade

Please share your experience with choosing right fertilizers for Blueberries and also timings to apply them.

Thanks

Comments (15)

• gator_rider2
    10 years ago

Black Hen comes many brands this is to show what looking for link http://www.lowes.com/pd_20017-1321-00051524602171_
    You use it on anything want to grow as long not in onion family it make slick between rings.

• fireduck
    10 years ago

MiracleGro for acid loving plants work nicely!

• fireduck
    10 years ago

MiracleGro for acid loving plants work nicely!

• mrsg47
    10 years ago

Gator, your link doesn't go through to Lowes for 'Black Hen' fertilizer but if you google Lowes you can get to it. Why 'Black Hen'. Is it an acid specific fertilizer, thanks, Mrs. G

• Ernie
    10 years ago

Are your blueberries in pots or in the ground?

• nandakumar
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks to all for the responses.

I missed to mention it, currently all my plants are in pots. in a year or two, I plan to move few of them to the ground.

I regularly use 'Black Cow' cow manure for our trees, shrubs and vegetable garden but never used 'Black Hen', will look for it when I visit Lowes next time.

I plan to grow organically as much as possible, not sure whether MiracleGro fertilizers are organic.

Thanks

• gator_rider2
    10 years ago

Gator, your link doesn't go through to Lowes for 'Black Hen' fertilizer but if you google Lowes you can get to it. Why 'Black Hen'. Is it an acid specific fertilizer, thanks, Mrs. G

Yes it for acid loving plants Black Hen.
    The black Kow or cow is not for acid loving plants.