Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
coloradosteph

Black Satin Blackberry... alive?

ColoradoSteph
10 years ago

Last year we planted a Black Satin Blackberry. Earlier this Spring when I didn't see any new canes growing from the ground and no growth on last year's canes (apologize if I am using wrong terms, I am new to this), I thought it was dead.

Well, lo and behold just today I saw two canes growing from the ground! I am a bit confused though because they look very purple. Is this normal for this variety or is there something wrong? I expected them to be green since the leaves last year were green.

Is this late in the season for the new canes to be coming up?

Should I go ahead and prune back last year's growth that seems dead? I thought the green growth it put on in the Fall would bear fruit this year however there are no leaves budding that I can tell.

Comments (11)

• don555
    10 years ago

I'm afraid it sounds like your plant killed to the ground. The canes that were put up last year are the ones that would bear fruit for you this year. If they are dead, sorry no fruit. (I would leave them awhile just to be sure, but here in zone 3, the new growth on my canes from last year is already several inches long, so it's not looking good for you in a warmer zone).

As for the two new purplish canes coming out of the ground, those are brand new canes that will establish this year and then fruit next year if they survive the winter. You need better winter protection for your blackberry plants.

• larry_gene
    10 years ago

Many caneberry varieties put up new cane growth that starts out as various shades of deep red. Green will appear once the canes are several inches long and leaves form.

• ColoradoSteph
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you for the feedback! I'm just happy to see the new canes coming up and to know that the color is normal. I was already counting this plant dead and earlier in the Spring planted a new Chester Blackberry 5' away.