Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
petpalikali

Blackberry hardiness

petpalikali
10 years ago

Rookie question... My local store is selling Navaho Blackberries. The tag says hardy down to zone 6. I live in a zone 4/5 area. Do they know something I don't know about hardiness? Should I pass this variety by or plant it. Or, do you have a suggested variety? Thanks all.

Comments (10)

• dmtaylor
    10 years ago

I have no personal experience with Navaho in Zone 5, but I did avoid it based on research. I have Chester which I think is kind of a stinker, and just last month planted Illini Hardy and Triple Crown. The Illini is already growing nicely. I believe warmer zone berries like TC will be successful only if given winter protection somehow via mulch or temporary coverings or whatever. Navaho might be a similar story. I am not sure.

• drew51 SE MI Z5b/6a
    10 years ago

It going to be hard to cover an upright blackberry. You can't put it on the ground! If you're plants are rated for zone 6 they should be OK, unless you regularly have temps below -5 degrees. Plants rated for zone 6 can handle anything above -5 degrees.

• don555
    10 years ago

If you want to grow them without making any special effort to protect them during winter, then I would pass. The hardiest variety I've heard of (apart from some wild-sounding internet claims) is "Balsor's Black" out of Nova Scotia, supposedly zone 4, but I've never tried it myself. You might have a hard time finding it in the US.

I'm in zone 3 and I grow Chester (this will be year 5 for the oldest plant). But I lay down the canes in early November and cover them with a deep layer of straw and burlap until April, and even then there is quite a bit of winterkill. So I'm sure you could grow them if you are willing to go high-maintenance, otherwise I wouldn't bother.

• hairmetal4ever
    10 years ago

Another option would be against the south wall of your house if you wanted to do that, and had the room.