Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Imidan Dilution Ratio

Posted by tuffametuffayou 6b (My Page) on
Tue, May 8, 12 at 20:00

Just received my Imidan order from E&R, and want to double check my ratio of 4 Tbls/Gal. This would be for apples, peaches, pears on the East Coast. Thanx in advance for your insight.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Imidan Dilution Ratio

That sounds like it might be heavy. I assume you purchased 70WP? Here is a discussion about this from the forum archives I saved in "My Favorites". My plan was 1 tablespoon per gallon... I am NOT an expert. Read the post link below.

Here is a link that might be useful: Imidan Use Discussion

o

1 TBS per gallon if it's 70 WP. Measure outside w/ protection when winds are calm.

o

Yup, 1 TBS per gallon.

Honestly, for most pesticides, "more isn't better" -- you're just wasting it. The only real exceptions that I can think of to this rule is that sometimes, 1) it's helpful to paint trunks/stubs of trees and shrubs you want to kill, kill for sure, and kill quickly with either a very strong solution of an herbicide, or even the straight concentrate right out of the bottle; or 2) if I HAVE to spray, but rain, especially heavy rain, is forecast within 24 hours, I will do 1 1/2 times the normal rate, hoping that it will help ensure some remains. Even that is wrong, really, certainly NOT an approved method, but there are times due to weather and life circumstances that I have no other options.

o

Your right about the rain. I have read the amount removed by a given amount of rain for a given pesticide. I think an inch of rain removes about half the Imidan but does not meaningfully affect protection. 1 TBS is already more than needed in dry conditions. Maybe someone can post the chart- Opea has it, I think.

Newer insecticides stick better but can afford to lose less potency after application so it pretty much evens out, as I recall, except that Imidan has kick-back.

o