Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
best mulberry tree for small yard partial shade ok?

Posted by xenacrocker 7md (My Page) on
Tue, May 6, 08 at 20:14

Hi,
I'm new to gardening. I would like to plant a mulberry tree/bush in our small yard that backs to wooded parkland. We would have lots of woodland visitors and my husband would freak out if the siding and deck of our house got stained. it is about 30 feet from the edge of our property/woods to our house.
What mulberry tree would you recommend?
Where would you buy it?
I was thinking of a weeping white mulberry.

Thanks,

andrea

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: best mulberry tree for small yard partial shade ok?

• Posted by bboy z8 WA USA (My Page) on
    Wed, May 7, 08 at 18:29

Yes if you don' want the fruit for eating then a fruitless weeping one would certainly solve the staining problem.

o

My vote is for a Geraldi Dwarf. Mature size 6-8ft tall and spread. Berries are excellent and bear longer than most. I wouldn't think there would be much mess because it's more like a shrub with no canopy. I just planted 1 bareroot from Burnt Ridge Nursery, and the little thing already has a couple fruitlets. In fact all 3 of my mulberries have been in the ground less than a year and all have fruits forming. Great low care fruit trees! Oh, and try Burnt Ridge, Edible Landscaping, or Whitman Farms for Geraldi.

Good luck,
JB

o

Mulberries will certainly be visited by your "woodland visitors" so that will be a challenge. There is a white mulberry that is quite delicious and does not stain. Dave Wilson nursery produces them. You can find nurseries that have Dave Wilson stock in most cities and online.
I have been trying to get my wife to agree to a fruiting mulberry but they are messy and you will likely find seedlings in your lawn and everywhere else too. They sure are yummy though!

o

I have Illinois Everbearing in 2nd season that gets afternoon shade. Hoping I will get to taste the fruit this year. : )