Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
xenacrocker

best mulberry tree for small yard partial shade ok?

xenacrocker
15 years ago

Hi,

I'm new to gardening. I would like to plant a mulberry tree/bush in our small yard that backs to wooded parkland. We would have lots of woodland visitors and my husband would freak out if the siding and deck of our house got stained. it is about 30 feet from the edge of our property/woods to our house.

What mulberry tree would you recommend?

Where would you buy it?

I was thinking of a weeping white mulberry.

Thanks,

andrea

Comments (10)

• Embothrium
    15 years ago

Yes if you don' want the fruit for eating then a fruitless weeping one would certainly solve the staining problem.

• softmentor
    15 years ago

Mulberries will certainly be visited by your "woodland visitors" so that will be a challenge. There is a white mulberry that is quite delicious and does not stain. Dave Wilson nursery produces them. You can find nurseries that have Dave Wilson stock in most cities and online.
    I have been trying to get my wife to agree to a fruiting mulberry but they are messy and you will likely find seedlings in your lawn and everywhere else too. They sure are yummy though!

• goodground
    15 years ago

I have Illinois Everbearing in 2nd season that gets afternoon shade. Hoping I will get to taste the fruit this year. : )

• xenacrocker
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Hi,
    Thanks for all the feedback! It sounds like they're yummy but spread quickly?
    Will my neighbors hate me if I get one?
    Are thornless blackberries a better option?

• softmentor
    15 years ago

Well, depends on the neighbors. If they are the kind to eat the ones on the branch that hangs over into their yard, they may be more understanding. but yep, they can be a problem.
    blackberries will spread too though, both underground root runners and from seeds, so they can invade the neighbors too.