Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
delforza

Rainier Cherry pollination

delforza
15 years ago

Hi,

I am completely new to gardening but am making efforts to learn and need some help.

This year planted tomatoes, peppers, lettuce and would like very much to add cherry trees to the back yard.

The cherry that looks most appealing is Rainier Cherry which looks like needs pollinator (whatever that means?)

Could that be pollinated with Balaton tart cherry or Montmorency?

Generally is there some guidance on how to pick a pollinator?

Also if anyones knows whether there is a chance for Rainier cherry to make it in Colorado climate and general guidelines on extra care needed for that, would be much much appreciated.

Thanks

Del

Comments (19)

• fruitnut Z7 4500ft SW TX
    15 years ago

Del:

There are a few good places in CO to grow sweet cherries but they are few and far between...like a couple acres between Palisade and Grand Junction. But lets say you live somewhere near Denver. That would be worth a try.

The cherries you mention will not pollinate Rainier. Bing is the obvious choice as one that would. They make a pretty good combo for pollination and rate high on quality. Other pollinators would need to bloom at about the same time as Rainier. There are self fertile sweet cherries. Self fertile is pretty appealing but I haven't found any yet that have the eating quality of Bing or Rainier. If you are going to try this might as well try the best.

Dwarfing rootstocks are all the rage amongst home owners for sweet cherries. They haven't worked well for me. I'd recommend you plant on Mazzard rootstock and use summer pruning to control tree size. If you want to try a dwarfing rootstock I'd stay away from Gisela 5 and go with Gisela 6 or 12. You could also try Krymsk 5 from Raintree but that is a real shot in the dark.