Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
cherry tree curled sticky with black looking dirt on underside.

Posted by marcantonio long island ny (My Page) on
Tue, May 13, 14 at 20:56

today i noticed that some leaves on my cherry tree were rolled. on the undersurface they is a sort of black dirt looking substance and a little sticky. it seems maybe like insect eggs. my apple tree is right next door and still flowering. so i'm afraid to spray pesticides that harm bees.
any suggestions?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: cherry tree curled sticky with black looking dirt on undersid

I am not an expert.

Do you see a bunch of ants going up and down the tree? If so, it sounds like the same problem I had on my cherry tree last year. Right or wrong, I concluded that it was aphids. Here's an article from umass. The photos matched mine.
http://extension.umass.edu/landscape/fact-sheets/aphids

I was able to solve the problem. I did 2 things.
1) I sprayed. I understand that spraying is out of the question at this time. However, I think the next step will work alone.
2) I cut off the ants from the aphids using a product recommended on this forum called Tanglefoot Tree Pest Barrier.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002KHOSH2/ref=wms_ohs_product?ie=UTF8&psc=1
It's simply a gooey substance that works like fly paper. Tape a single wrap of duct tape around the trunk. Press the tape tight making sure there are no gaps for the ants to crawl under. Coat the wrap of tape with the tanglefoot. The ants can't get to aphids. In theory, the aphids will die without the ants. (I removed the tape in the fall because I don't want to strangle the tree.) By design, tanglefoot is extremely gooey. Don't get this stuff on your hands or clothes. Also make sure that the ants don't have an alternate path into your cherry tree. For example, if your apple tree branches touch your cherry tree branches, the ants will use that route.