Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
otrasca

Help with Canning :-)

otrasca
9 years ago

This will be my first year canning my harvest. I have Many different fruits and veggies. I would like some canning pros to tell me the best ways to can citrus, berries, & melons. If the store can do it.... I can do it, I just need a little advice from some of you who have found the best ways
References always welcome.
Thanks in advance for your knowledge!
Tamara

Comments (4)

• carolstropicals
    9 years ago

Great Post !!
    I have been learning canning for the past 8 months or so.
    The best advice is to go to YouTube. That is where I have learned. Of course there is the Ball book on canning which you should own, but Youtube has been great. There are some people who have been canning for years and it is best to follow them - not the people who have just started.

I like Katzcradul, Imstillworkin, and a few others. You will finally get to know who is the best. On one of her videos Katzcradul was canning butter. I believe it was her second video on butter. At the end she said the names of each person who canned who, she felt, was the most reputable.

Citrus is tricky since the skins should be removed since they are not sweet. This is cumbersome. I have made preserves several time. Also there are recipes on the internet for jellies and jams.

My advice is to go to Youtube and type in Katzcradul along with the word canning. It is a long process - learning to can correctly and what works best for you.
    I believe I have watched 100 or more videos. I have learned to can chicken, roast, butter, and some fruit.
    Hope this helps. Start the Learning Tree !!

• luvncannin
    9 years ago