Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
edweather

How do I get more leaves on blueberry bushes?

I know that the question sounds odd. Shouldn't I want more berries? Well, I was just looking at the thread of posted blueberry pictures, and I noticed that a lot of the plants are very nicely leafed out. I'm a novice grower, and have a 4 yo Bluecrop, and a 3 yo Blueray, and several younger plants, all in containers, here in Northern NY. Both the Bluecrop and the Blueray are loaded with berries. The Bluecrop has some leaves, and the Blueray has very few leaves. Neither is like the ones I'm seeing in these pictures as far as leaves go. Should I do something to get more leaves or should I just be happy they are growing well and producing well? Thanks. Ed

Comments (31)

• Bradybb WA-Zone8
    11 years ago

Hi Ed,
    They should grow more leaves as time goes on.On some of my plants,I'd like more leaves also.
    Possibly try fruitnut's regimen of 1 tablespoon of Ammonium Sulfate dissolved in 2 1/2 to 3 gallons of water once per week until vegetative growth is gained.It's something I will probably start doing. Brady

• murkwell
    11 years ago

That sounds like one teaspoon per gallon. I have to see if I can find my Ammonium Sulfate.

• planatus
    11 years ago

I understand your concern. My mature bushes load up so heavily that I fear they will overdo things, and I prune rather aggressively each winter.

Bear in mind that as long as the berries are green, they are helping slightly with the photosynthetic load. Meanwhile, foliar growth should start picking up. After the berries are harvested in August, I fertilize to help the plants recover. Seems to work.

• fruitnut Z7 4500ft SW TX
    11 years ago

edweather: