Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nicolevabre

Growing grapevines over arbor for shade

Nicole Vabre
10 years ago

Hey All!
I have an arbor that I've finally decided needs shade, and I've chose to grow grapes for the shade AND fruit. From the ground to the top of the arbor is 10'. I'm wondering if a Niagra grape vine will even grow that tall? I am a total amateur; never grown anything other than a few flowers. I mostly want the vines for shade, but the fruit will be a great benefit! Also; should I plant them against the house, or on the vertical posts?

Comments (39)

• Kevin Reilly
    10 years ago

I would plant near the posts... Niagra should be good, why not get another type for the second post?

I attached a link to my pergola w/grapes....similar to yours except I built with 4 posts and have 4 different grapes growing up each one...

Here is a link that might be useful: Grape Pergola

• yukkuri_kame
    10 years ago

No problem. We've got grape arbors on 3 sides of the house.

• canadianplant
    10 years ago

You shoud be careful of which grape you get. Some of the best tasting and popuar varieties are only reliably hardy to zone 5.

From what ive read, Niagra is not reliable in zone 4, especially if you want shade. Vaiant and Beta should be 100% hardy there, Valiant being a better tasting version of beta. Edelweiss is apparenty a hardy choice as well.

Google the University of Minnesota grape page (key words "minnesota grapes") and they will give you information based on the trials down there.

• Suzi AKA DesertDance So CA Zone 9b
    10 years ago

Sometimes you have to dig deep to find exactly which varieties do well in your climate.

Our climate is HOT summer days and warm summer nights, and very low chance of any freeze in winter. I looked for grapes that originated in other countries of the world with similar climates, and was very successful in obtaining varieties that do exceptionally well here.