Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help with IPM for Stone Fruits

Posted by treehugger100 z6MD (My Page) on
Tue, Jun 4, 13 at 6:34

This is my first year for stone fruits. I feel overwhelmed by the array of products and combinations. Penn State and other University sites confuse me more as the list of products is more than I can wrap my head around. I have 16 trees (apricots, aprium, cherries, nectarines, fig, pear and plum). Can you recommend say, 4-6 insecticides, fungicides or combinations that are must haves in the arsenal?

I love the fungicide that needs a repeat application every two weeks and that insecticide every 7 days. Does this fungicide counteract that insecticide waiting for round 2?

And why do some sprays seem to leave out plums and apricots- Bonide Fruit Tree Spray for example.

Sorry for the long post. Is there a fruit tree growers Bible that would help me?

After my experience with the blueberries, I am very cautious.

Thanks once again.

Terri

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help with IPM for Stone Fruits

"And why do some sprays seem to leave out plums and apricots- Bonide Fruit Tree Spray for example. "

It contains sulfur, and I can't speak for plums, but "cots" don't like sulfur.

o

Ah. So what kind of fungicide do you use for cots?

o

"Ah. So what kind of fungicide do you use for cots?"

Copper, and you can use Bonide® Citrus, Fruit & Nut Orchard Spray or Bonide® Fung-onil™ Fungicide .
If you wish to use Bonide products. Most pros use other fungicides I think because of the low percentages of active ingredients in Bonide? Not sure? Seems like a decent company. I myself am still testing all these products for myself.
Monterey Fungi-Fighter is another I have seen used, but not sure if on cots? Also Spectracide.
Some of these may have the same active ingredients?