Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Droopy Avocado

Posted by lrn2gro none (My Page) on
Mon, Jun 17, 13 at 8:52

Hey everyone,
I have been growing an avocado from a pit for about 6 months now and it is probably around a foot tall. However all of the leaves are drooping and sort of wrinkling and curling in. Any suggestions on what could be the reason? I figure it has something to do with overwatering. I am not totally sure how the watering schedule has been since my mother was taking care of it while I was gone for a month.
Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Droopy Avocado

Hi there,

I am still new to the avocado so I am a novice. When I first bought mine, i was having the same issue. Drooping and dropping leaves. It needed sunlight and less watering. I learned that they need to be in a watering schedule. Mine is in the ground and my soil is heavy clay and I water it once a week with a soaker hose until it can't hold no more.

We do need more info.

I don't know where your location? Is it in a pot or on the ground? Have you fertilized? If so, what fertilizer are you using? How often do you water it? How much sun do it get? What kind of avocado is it? Can we get some pics?

Thanks,
Sal

o

Thanks for responding Sal. So I am in Michigan, and it is in a pot. I haven't fertilized it and I keep the soil moist. It sits in a west window, so it gets some sunlight most of the day and then direct sunlight for a couple hours in the evening. I don't know what kind of avocado it is since it was just from one a bought at the grocery. I'll try and get some pics uploaded

o

• Posted by campv Arizona (My Page) on
    Thu, Jun 20, 13 at 15:08

Avo's don't do well inside or in pots. They don't take cold at all. Michigan would not be a good place for an avocado. Might end up being a nice indoor plant but it won't fruit.

o