Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fred_1933

When and How to tip (prune) new Canes on Blackberries

Fred_1933
10 years ago

I'm new at growing blackberryb plants, and I seek some information on when and how to tip this year's new canes to make more growth for next year berries.
Here, I have a few pictures on the new canes that are from 4' to 7' in length, and from reading various web site on this subject when and how much to tip (prune) these canes.

Any information would be wonderful.

{{gwi:110646}}

{{gwi:110647}}

{{gwi:110648}}

Comments (12)

• mes111
    10 years ago

I am no expert either but...

Different varieties will fruit on either last year's canes or on this year's canes. Some new fruit twice in one season.

So... find out what variety you are growing and then here or in the description available on google or on the online nurseries ( Stark, Miller, Raintree etc.) that sell the variety, will give you all the info and more.

Mike

• bamboo_rabbit
    10 years ago

Fred, I grow mine on a double wire trellis and I snip them about 6" before the tip gets to the top wire. But you can do the same for the bottom wire then train one new shoot up and then tip again as it gets close to the top wire. I don't bother as all the fruit that forms below 30" the chickens eat anyway.

• drewbym
    10 years ago

Do you know what variety of blackberry it is? I can tell it's probably either Triple Crown, Chester, or Black Satin, but I'm not sure.

That being said, go ahead and tip them. Where you tip them the cane will send out new shoots thereby increasing your potential yield next year.

• Fred_1933
    Original Author
    10 years ago

The blackberry canes in the photos are Triple Crown variety. I also have Natchez, Quachita, Apache, Navaho, and Prime Jan
    I'm more concerned with The TP's getting Tip, as they are the ones with the 6-7 feet canes.