Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bamboo_rabbit

Ammonium sulfate ?

bamboo_rabbit
11 years ago

I have never used the stuff before and have a few questions that I hope Fruitnut or another can answer.

I bought a 51 pound bag of ammonium sulfate yesterday and the first question is why does it come in a 51 pound bag? There must be a reason for the odd amount. The stuff I bought is water soluble.

The bag did not say 21-0-0 on it or anything else. It is made by American plant food company if that helps. I know they add it to roundup spray tanks as it makes the round up more effective. Am I to simply take it on faith that it is 21-0-0 or is all ammonium sulfate 21-0-0 by nature?

The dose I am using is a bit low but figured to start 4 cups to 300 gallon tank to fertilize my BB. I know I could use 6 cups for the 300 gallons but being a bit cautious.

When added to my high bicarbonate water the PH stayed at 7.2 . Should I adjust the water with acid then add the ammonium sulfate or just use the ammonium sulfate without the acid?

Anything else I should know?

Comments (30)

• fruitnut Z7 4500ft SW TX
    11 years ago

All ammonium sulfate is 21-0-0. That doesn't mean you have the real stuff but you probably do. I'd still acidify the water and only use 21-0-0 once a week at most. I fertilize about once a week when pushing growth and no more than once a month when growth is adequate.

• bamboo_rabbit
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Fruitnut,

Thanks for the reply. What did you mean by "That doesn't mean you have the real stuff but you probably do". I didn't understand that. I bought the bag from Helena chemical.

11 years ago

If the bag says ammonium sulfate and it's from Helena then I'd bet that's exactly what you have. Mine is a white, granular material. It's water soluable but takes some stirring to get it into solution. I won't expect it to lower the pH of the water. It will lower pH of the soil as the ammonium is absorbed by the plant or converted to nitrate.