Houzz Logo Print
mosesong

How to maintain Strawberry plant?

mosesong
16 years ago

Hi all,

This is my strawberry tower:

{{gwi:111457}}

This is my first year planting them. I have pinched all the flowers and cut off all the funner so the energy can go to the plant itself. They are mix of everbearing and junebearing. I will leave the everbearing to go to fruit in the fall.

At the mean time, what should I do with the plant? the leaves are getting larger and seems create some shade to the neighbour plant. Should I let those big leave die down or should I cut them?

Comments (6)

• jellyman
    16 years ago

Mosesong:

When you are growing strawberries in tight space containers like that, there is not much to be gained by removing blossoms. They don't have any room to runner anyway. Might as well enjoy whatever strawberries they might give you.

You must be pretty tight for space to be growing strawberries vertically like that. It looks like a good gust of wind could take the whole thing down.

For all the trouble you have gone to with your towers, you won't get even close to the production you would by planting the strawberries in the ground, if you have a 10x10 area or so. There is not much point in taking off large, healthy leaves. They are what make food for the plant. Containers like this are always going to be crowded, which is one reason they are not very productive, although they are somewhat decorative, even without much in the way of strawberries.

Don Yellman, Great Falls, VA

• mosesong
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks Don, I was told these pots were designed for strawberry planting, and even for commecial space like this: http://www.agrotower.com/commercial.aspx

Space is any issue for me, and rotten control is one of the thing I don't want to deal with, by building it up, rabbits can't get to the top. I can also bring the pots in door to the garage when it get extremly cold in the winter.