Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
splumb_gw

Newly found grapes what to do

splumb
11 years ago

We bought a house recently and realized we have grapes growing. They are in a space 8x50 ft. There are not on any supports just laying on the ground. Some of the branches off the main trunks have started to put down roots. Can I up root those and tried to put them on trellises. Of course leaving the main root structure intact.

I have no experience with growing grapes so any advice would be helpful.

Thanks

Comments (6)

• fruitnut Z7 4500ft SW TX
    11 years ago

splumb:

You won't be able to make much real progress right now. What I'd do is try to sample the fruit this summer and see if it's anything you want to save. Starting over with a proven variety is probably the best idea in most cases.

If you want to trellis and renovate, cut everything back as much as possible this winter, build a trellis, and train the resulting strong shoots up the trellis. You can grow a vine in 2013 and have fruit in 2014.

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    11 years ago

I like fruitnut's advice. We have native grapes which grow here, and are quite invasive, but not good for fruit. I looked up your page to find you are zone 4. As a new member, we all welcome your posts. If you would edit your name to indicate your zone it would help you get relative answers. Al

• glib
    11 years ago

All grapes in my fencerows are wild. However, the previous owner had a thicket of various shrubs, brambles, and in there were several Concord-type grapes. I pulled out the two biggest vines, buried them midway, and trained them to a trellis. The next year I cut down the thicket, including the original vines, and that area is now part of the lawn. The two vines survived on the roots they made in the buried sections, and they have produced, in good years tens of pounds per wine, although deer, birds and raccoons leave not a lot. You need a strong trellis, but plan on it only after you have tasted the grapes.