Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Nectarine, Plum, Cherry Tree issues with holes in leaves

Posted by misop1 Nevada (My Page) on
Wed, Jun 12, 13 at 14:47

I have pictures of each tree however I am attaching the Nectarine tree for review. This tree was planted about 2 1/2 years ago and is growing rather slowly (Cherry tree is growing like mad!) however it is starting to bear fruit (very small right now). The problem I fear is that it has some type fungus and/or insect that I cannot see at any time. Some leaves are completely eaten through but I see no bugs at all. The cherry tree leaves are eaten through also but some leaves are also turning yellow (pale). What can I do to save my tree(s) that is non toxic. Also, this is my first time caring for fruit trees so my experience is little to none.

This post was edited by misop1 on Wed, Jun 12, 13 at 14:50

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Nectarine, Plum, Cherry Tree issues with holes in leaves

Plum Tree

o

Cherry Tree

o

Looks like 'Shot Hole'. My leaves look identical and they will be going on their fourth spray in two days after it stops raining. Ugh. Mrs. G

o

I agree with Mrs. G. that the nectarine looks like shot hole but the plum looks more like insect damage. Cherry looks like it has both.

You could have a combination of insect damages and shot hole (bateria disease) on all the trees. Some insects feed at night or at times that you are not looking.

I attached another post that discussed a similar problem for you to compare.

Here is a link that might be useful: Holes on fruit tree leaves

o

Ive seen Japanese beetles do that to my plum trees every year. Look up Japanese fruit tree damage, its quit similar. Beetles and weevils eat leaves similar to that.

If its shothole, it will start with brown spots, then degrade into what you have. Check for brown spotting as well.

Hopefully its just bug damage:(

This post was edited by blazeaglory on Thu, Jun 13, 13 at 23:33

o