Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nativeplanter_gw

crutches for overloaded peach tree?

nativeplanter
11 years ago

I have a Red Haven peach tree (purchased from a local nursery in spring 2011) that is now rather overloaded with peaches. I thought I thinned adequately, but it looks like I wasn't ruthless enough. I'm worried that a couple branches might break under the weight of the fruit. I can remove some now, but that's awfully hard to get myself to do, since they look so yummy! I have heard where people sometimes make crutches for fruit trees to support branches, but am having a hard time finding anything out on the best way to do it. I worry that some methods, like a 2x4 with a notch, might rub the bark off. Would a notch made of PVC pipe connectors work better? (I seem to be able to find precious little about the best way to make such supports on the 'net). Surprisingly, I can't find anything on this topic on the forum.

I'm new to growing frut trees; this is only my second summer. (So I'm making a lot of mistakes as I go along, even though I try to read a lot.) We don't have a lot of space (0.97 acre total for the lot), so I really would like to take good care of the few trees I can have. (Unfortunately, I won't be allowed to blanket the lot with fruit trees, either.)

Thanks for any advice anyone can offer!

Comments (14)

• denninmi
    11 years ago

Pad the supports with something that doesn't hold a lot of water but will cushion against abrasion at the point of contact.

• gator_rider2
    11 years ago

Cut V in one end of 2x4 U even better you want to raise up Limb to install 2x4 this way want be much movement to brake bark. Install V half way peaches on that limb. You need take crutch out soon as load gone.

• nativeplanter
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks for the ideas! What do you think would make good padding? Pipe insulation maybe? I'll be sure to put the support half way down the branch and to take it off as soon as possible.

• olpea